Sykesville is a Maryland & National Main Street and National Trust for Historic Preservation District. Our rich history, scenic location along the Patapsco, and our vital Main Street are just a few reasons to visit. We also have spring/summer concerts at Cooper Park and on Main Street, a kiddie railway park, model train exhibits right inside real locomotive cars, tubing on the Patapsco and much more. You may even want to plan your visit around one of our fun annual events, such as our spring Art & Wine Festival, our fall Chili Cook-Off & Beer Festival, our Ghost & Legends Tour just in time for Halloween, or our old fashioned Merry Main Street celebration.
Outdoor & For Kids
Sykesville Farmers’ Market
Shop local! Visit us every summer Sunday for local produce, meat & dairy, baked goods, pickles and other specialty items. The Farmer’s Market is located on Baldwin’s Drive by the fountain park and model trains – across the street from The French Twist.
Every Sunday, May 15 thru October 30, 9am-1pm
The Little Sykes Railway Park
Ride the rails with us! Enjoy free rides on our 1949 12-gauge miniature train through our 2 acre park situated just north of Downtown on Sandosky Road. Open summer Sundays. Donations are greatly appreciated to help with the maintenance.
South Branch Park
Originally the James Sykes Mill, the park now offers amenities to kids of all ages, including a rentable pavilion, phenomenal playground, and a state of the art skate park. Located across the Patapsco River Bridge. This site is also home to the old Apple Butter Factory building.
Millard Cooper Park
Relax at a pavilion or picnic area, stroll a nature trail, or monkey around on the playground equipment. Featuring outdoor movies and concerts throughout the summer. Located across from the Sykesville Gate House Museum.
S&P Railway Model Train Displays
Inspired by Sykesville’s rich and varied railroad history, S&P Railway builds and operates model train displays, displayed in historic train cars downtown. The train car and caboose are located at the corner of Oklahoma Road and Baldwin Lane in downtown Sykesville.
When the first Sunday of each month is a holiday, the open house is the following Sunday. Admission is free and donations are accepted. During the Christmas season, there are holiday displays as well as additional hours and visits from Santa.
Tubing or Fishing on the Patapsco
Tubing the Patapsco River is a popular and enjoyable way to spend a hot summer afternoon.
The Patapsco River also provides for great fishing for the enthusiast. Smallmouth bass, rock bass, redbreast sunfish, hog suckers and white suckers can be found throughout the river.
More on fishing the Patapsco.
Civil War Trail
“In June 1863, as Gen. Robert E. Lee and the Army of Northern Virginia marched north, Gen. J.E.B. Stuart’s Confederate cavalry rode east of the main army. Soon, Federal cavalry hunted Stuart. Before dawn on June 29, several former area residents guided Stuart’s column north from Cooksville. At Old Frederick Road (present-day State Rte. 99) the force divided, and elements ranged east to Sykesville and Marriottsville.
Gen. Fitzhugh Lee’s brigade continued north on Washington Road to Hood’s Mill and occupied the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad there, cutting telegraph lines to disrupt communications between Frederick and Washington. Stuart soon learned that Gen. Joseph Hooker had been relieved of command of the Army of the Potomac the day before at Frederick and might return to Washington on a special train about 10:30 a.m. that day. The Confederates burned a small wooden bridge over Piney Branch about half a mile east of Hood’s Mill and tore up several sections of track to stop the train and capture Hooker. An alert engineer on an earlier train spotted them, however, and backed up to Frederick to warn Hooker, thereby thwarting the scheme.”
Visit the Historical Marker Database for the location of this Maryland Civil War Trail marker and others in the vicinity.
Main Street Walking Tour
Download and print the Sykesville Main Street walking Tour Map, or visit our Town House or Visitor’s Center (Mon-Sat) for a copy of the brochure.
Come to Sykesville for some fun geocaching! Learn more at the Maryland Geocaching Society site.
The Sykesville Historic Colored Schoolhouse
When the schoolbell rang on January 3, 1904, students of color had their first chance at an education in South Carroll County. Sykesville’s Historic Colored Schoolhouse has been restored and furnished to its 1904 appearance, but today exists as a historical site and an educational destination. A variety of field trips and tours are available for students and Scouts ages kindergarten through grade 12.
Sykesville Gate House Museum of History
Formerly the gateway to Springfield Hospital Center, the museum is now the primary archive and exhibit for historical artifacts within the town. The Sykesville Gate House Museum strives to interpret the abundant history of the Town of Sykesville and its surrounding communities through its collections, exhibits and special events. Entering the front door, visitors will immediately immerse themselves in the rich history of this community through an innovative timeline. A wide variety of displays and artifacts located throughout the building provide more detailed aspects of the Town of Sykesville’s history.
Sykesville Town House
Originally a private residence owned by John McDonald and his wife, this massive structure now operates as the Sykesville Town House. Stop by for a look around and to pick up a walking tour map as well as other local information. Located at 7547 Main Street.
The Old Main Line Visitor’s Center & Post Office
Initially a B&O Railroad switching tower, the century-old building was relocated to Sykesville and restored to house a full-service Post Office and Visitor Center. Located next to the Old Main Line Park.
Post Office & Visitor Center Hours and Services
Bus Groups are welcome! For more information, contact 410-795-8959